Due to FERPA concerns, after the courses are merged, the course tools: Course Messages, Email, and Roster will be closed. “FERPA prohibits disclosing the identities of students through an LMS to students in another class. The disclosure prohibition would not apply where merged courses are actually the same class, meeting at the same time, and in the same classroom (if there is a classroom component), but happened to be assigned different course numbers or names in the college catalogue or class schedule.” (Dave Stolier, 2017). If Discussion Board, Blog, Wiki, or Journal is needed in the merged course, all students should be grouped by sections, and students only are allowed to use these tools in the Group.
If you have further questions on course merge, please contact Yunkai at firstname.lastname@example.org.